Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visit American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine online at www.aucmed.edu.
© 2016 American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine. All rights reserved. Important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended this program can be found at http://www.aucmed.edu/gainful-employment.
Images on the Internet
What is Creative Commons?
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that works to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) available in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.
Please note that search.creativecommons.org is not a search engine, but rather offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations. CC has no control over the results that are returned. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link. Since there is no registration to use a CC license, CC has no way to determine what has and hasn't been placed under the terms of a CC license. If you are in doubt you should contact the copyright holder directly, or try to contact the site where you found the content.
Embryo Images Normal and Abnormal Mammalian Development is a tutorial that uses scanning electron micrographs (SEMs) as the primary resource to teach mammalian embryology. The 3-D like quality of the micrographs coupled with selected line drawings and minimal text allow relatively easy understanding of the complex morphological changes that occur in utero. Because early human embryos are not readily available and because embryogenesis is very similar across mammalian species, the majority of micrographs that are utilized in this tutorial are of mouse embryos. The remainder are human.
This tutorial was developed by Drs. Kathleen K. Sulik and Peter R. Bream Jr. with the assistance of Mr. Tim Poe and Ms. Kiran Bindra. Financial support has been provided by the Greenwood Genetic Center, Greenwood, SC and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The SEMs used in this tutorial are from the K.K. Sulik collection. The line drawings have been used with permission from Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and are from the 6th and 7th editions of Langman's Medical Embryology by T.W. Sadler. These drawings may not be reproduced without the permission of the publisher. Please email your questions and comments to the Educational Technology Group.
It is strongly advised to use the Usage Rights filter to choose images that are free to use, share or modify.
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library. Browse or search the collection by clicking one of the link on the site.
Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
IHM is available through NLM Digital Collections, a free online resource of biomedical books and still and moving images.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Pathology Education Informational Resource (PEIR)
A collection of over 10,000 curated pathology teaching images, from 1999 to the present. The images in this library are © University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Pathology. These digital images can be used by educators and institutions for non-profit educational activities but the University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Pathology retains all copyrights. The University of Alabama at Birmingham Department of Pathology must be acknowledged as the source of images in any software, demonstration, or presentation utilizing these images.
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Please note, however, that free access does not mean that there is no copyright protection. Publishers and individual authors continue to hold copyright on the material in PMC and users must abide by the terms defined by the copyright holder.
When you search for a topic, PMC will load images on the right side, when available.
Whole Brain Atlas
Includes information on the normal brain as well as cerebrovascular, neoplastic, degenerative, inflammatory, and infectious diseases.
If you would like to point to any of these materials from your WWW page, please feel free. But please LINK to the original documents, rather than copying and serving from your local site.
Portions of this work may be individually downloaded, copied, and cited for the personal and educational purposes of individuals and organizations in their work, provided that proper attribution and context are given.
Commercial reproduction or multiple distribution of any kind is prohibited.