AUC Library: Evidence Based Medicine: Finding Evidence

Essential Resources

The list of EBM databases goes from the strongest and most comprehensive to the weakest.

Cochrane Library: Consists of detailed, structured topic reviews of hundreds of articles. Teams of experts complete comprehensive literature reviews, evaluate the literature, and present summaries of the findings of the best studies. Published by the International Cochrane Collaboration. The Cochrane Library includes Database of Systematic Reviews, Central Register of Controlled Trials, DARE, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, EBM Reviews Full Text
ACP Journal Club: Abstracts of articles containing strong evidence from within the primary literature.
US Preventative Services Task Force: The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
PubMed Clinical Queries: PubMed/MEDLINE search feature that filters results to display only articles backed by good evidence. NOTE: At the PubMed home page, choose the Clinical Queries option from the choices under "FIND".
ECRI Guidelines Trust: publicly available web-based repository of evidence based clinical practice guidelines with summaries and ratings.
TRIP Database: An EBM search engine that searches across multiple Evidence-Based information sites. While not all findings are full-text, TRIP includes many unique resources and guidelines not found elsewhere.
Medscape: The leading online global destination of physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME. Includes background narratives, often with emphasis on best evidence outcomes.

Appraisal Tools

Art of Reading a Journal Article: Methodically and Effectively
Free full-text article by RV Subramanyam in the Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology. 2013 Jan-Apr; 17(1): 65-70
CASP Checklists (Critical Appraisal Skills Programme)
Critical appraisal tools to be used when reading Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Cohort Studies, Case Control Studies, Economic Evaluations, Diagnostic Studies, Qualitative studies and Clinical Prediction Rule.
Critical Appraisal Tools
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Critical Appraisal Tools, extensively peer reviewed and designed for use in systematic reviews, can also be used when creating Critically Appraised Topics (CAT), in journal clubs, and as an educational tool.
How to Read a Paper
10 articles from BMJ that explain how to read and interpret different kinds of research papers.
more...less...
Full text is available. library.aucmed.edu > Journals > A-Z List > BMJ
How to Read a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis and Apply the Results to Patient Care: Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature
Murad MH, Montori VM, Ioannidis JPA, et al. How to Read a Systematic Review and Meta-analysis and Apply the Results to Patient Care: Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature. JAMA. 2014;312(2):171–179. doi:10.1001/jama.2014.5559

Guidelines

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2019 by Evan D. Slater; Joseph S. Esherick; Jacob David
Publication Date: 2019

ECRI Institute Guidelines Trust
an independent nonprofit organization authority on the medical practices and products that provide the safest, most cost-effective care.
ECRI Institute has been designated as an Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) with the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) since 1997
USPSTF ePSS Tool
Electronic Preventive Services Selector: search and browse U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations and guidelines. Mobile friendly.