Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visit American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine online at www.aucmed.edu.
© 2016 American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine. All rights reserved. Important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended this program can be found at http://www.aucmed.edu/gainful-employment.
Disaster Lit®: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.
Downloadable medical screening tool. Two tools currently available, an Anthrax scenario and a Hepatitis A outbreak. Available for Blackberry, iPhone, iPod and iPad devices.
PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS)
The PTSDpubs Database (formerly PILOTS) is an extensive PTSD resource produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs although it is not limited to literature on PTSD among Veterans.
Collection of environmental health and toxicology databases, including database of potentially hazardous chemicals, chemical dictionary, structure database and references to toxicology literature.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Features information and links about toxic substances, toxicological profiles and a toxic substances portal.
Caribbean Disaster Emergency Medicine Agency
The Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA) is a regional inter-governmental agency for disaster management in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).
CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response
Information and resources for preparing for and responding to public health emergencies.
Center for Biosecurity-University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Features links to articles and publications and issue briefs. Topic areas include Avian/Pandemic Influenza, Bioagents, Hospital Preparedness and Countermeasure Development.
Medical Reserve Corps
Information for physicians and other health professionals who want to volunteer. Also features a toolkit with guidance documents and difference topics such as hospital surge, mental health and quarantine/isolation.
National Advisory Committee on Chidren and Disasters
Provides expert advice and consultation to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on the medical and public health needs of children in disasters.
National Center for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
Website features links to resources and reports. The center also sponsors conferences.
National Center for PTSD
The National Center for PTSD is dedicated to research and education on trauma and PTSD. We work to assure that the latest research findings help those exposed to trauma.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration Emergency Preparedness and Response
Features links to OSHA standards and regulations, guidance documents, safety and health guides and other resources for first responders, first receivers, safety officers and health professionals.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Health Emergencies
Reducing mortality, morbidity, and societal disruption resulting from emergencies and disasters through the detection, management and mitigation of high-threat pathogens, and all-hazards risk reduction, preparedness, response and early recovery activities that build resilience and use a multi-sectoral approach to contribute to health security.
REMM Radiation Emergency Medical Management
From US Dept. of Health and Human Services (HHS)
Provides guidance for health care providers, primarily physicians, about clinical diagnosis and treatment of radiation injury during radiological and nuclear emergencies
web-based information that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an emergency if the internet is not accessible
World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine
Features links to WHO situation reports and other useful links.
WHO Psychological First Aid: Guide for Field Workers
Online guide book on psychological first aid geared to first responders and field workers.
AUC Library Resources
Some disaster/emergency medicine resources in the AUC library are listed below.