Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visit American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine online at www.aucmed.edu.
© 2016 American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine. All rights reserved. Important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended this program can be found at http://www.aucmed.edu/gainful-employment.
Websites on Libraries & Disaster Planning
ALA Library Fact Sheet 10 – Disaster Preparedness
Features links to disaster management websites geared to libraries, as well as a select bibliography.
Conservation Online Disaster Preparedness and Response
Compiled by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation. Features links to disaster plan workbooks, salvage of water damaged collections and mold/mildew remediation.
dPlan - Disaster Planning Tool for Cultural & Civic Institutions
Online disaster planning template for libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other collection-holding institutions.
Heritage Emergency National Task Force
Website for Heritage Preservation's Emergency National Task Force. Features links to disaster preparedness and recovery resources, salvaging wet books and streaming videos geared towards libraries and other cultural institutions.
Library of Congress Emergency Preparedness Publications
Provides links to publications on salvaging water damaged materials, preservation of library materials and information based on difference scenarios.
NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center
Provides health information resources to prepare, respond, and recover to disasters and links to current research in the disaster information field.
NLM Disaster Information Specialist Program
The Program facilitates a network of information professionals and librarians ready to take on the role of "information responder" in their communities and organizations. It provides opportunities to enhance skills in supporting the disaster workforce through training classes, monthly webinars, and connections with others of similar interests.
NLM Emergency Access Initiative
Partnership between NLM, NN/LM and publishers to provide free access to full text articles from major biomedical publishers to healthcare professionals, librarians and the public affected by a disaster.
A Primer on Disaster Preparedness, Management and Response: Paper-Based Materials
Includes Procedures for Salvage of Water-Damaged Library Materials,Library of Congress, extracts from unpublished revised text, by Peter Waters, July 1993. Recommendations for cleaning, removal, packing, vacuum and freeze drying.