AUC Library: Emergency Preparedness and Response Resources: General Information

Quick Links

Journal List
Book a Study Room
Databases & Tutorials
How Do I...?
Interlibrary Loan
Library Hours
Library Information & Services
Library Staff
Publication/Presentation List Fill out the form with your publication, presentation, poster, grant information to be included in the AUC Archives.
Renew Library Book Click on link. Log on to ACCOUNT in upper right. Username is the first initial of your first name and your last name. Password is your D# WITHOUT the D. See "How to Renew a Book" video in the "How Do I" page
more...less...
.

Ask Us

Library FAQs

Library Director, Mounia Hanzazi

Library: 721-545-2298, Ex.404-1395

Email Library Director

General Preparedness/Disaster Information

AUC Hurricane Preparedness Information
This webpage and other hurricane preparedness materials have been developed to keep AUC students and the campus community informed and aware of weather-related activities. In the event of a hurricane or other emergency, AUC will update the Weather Alerts page with official university announcements.
Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency
The Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (CDEMA) is a regional inter-governmental agency for disaster management in the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).
American Red Cross
Features links to all types of disaster information, include the “safe and well” system and how to find a shelter.
Checklist on Law & Disaster Risk Reduction
The Checklist on Law and Disaster Risk Reduction (the Checklist) provides a prioritized list of ten key questions that lawmakers, implementing officials, and those supporting them need to consider in order to ensure that their laws provide the best support for DRR. It covers not only dedicated disaster risk management (DRM)4 laws but also other sectoral laws and regulations that are critical for building safety and resilience, as well as the environment, land and natural resource management. The Handbook on Law and Disaster Risk Reduction has been developed to provide further detail and practical guidance on how the Checklist can be used as a tool for strengthening laws and regulations and commitments
made under the Sendai Framework
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Features emergency preparedness information, recovery information, updates and disasters and maps.
Ready.gov
Geared towards consumers, resources available in multiple languages, covers special concerns such as elders and pets.
Disaster Assistance.gov
Information portal for disaster survivors with information about how to apply for assistance, assistance available from government agencies and finding federal disaster relief centers. Available in English and Spanish.
MedlinePlus
Information geared towards consumers and covers a wide variety of disasters, including earthquakes, radiation exposure, floods, earthquakes and winter weather emergencies.
National Hurricane Center
The Hurricane Specialist Unit (HSU) of the National Hurricane Center maintains a continuous watch on tropical cyclones and areas of disturbed weather within the North Atlantic and eastern North Pacific basins and prepares and issues analyses and forecasts in the form of text advisories and graphical products. The HSU issues coastal tropical cyclone watches and warnings for the United States and its Caribbean territories and provides watch and warning recommendations to other World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Region IV meteorological services.
National Science Foundation-Disasters
Special report website with information on understanding disasters, preparing and immediate response.
National Weather Service
Homepage of the National Weather Service with information on weather alerts, graphical forecasts, national maps, forecast models and weather safety information.

About This Guide

This guide is based on the "Emergency Preparedness and Response Resources Guide", Himmelfarb Library, George Washington University and is being used with permission.

This guide is a resource for first responders, health professionals, librarians and others interested in emergency management and disaster preparedness. Resources listed, with the exception of print and e-books in the AUC Library collection, are available to the public.

This guide is by no means an exhaustive list of resources, but is meant to be a starting point for your research. For faculty, staff and students affiliated with AUC, Bette Bissonnette, Director of Library Services, is available by US cell, 978-701-1314 or email, [email protected] to help with your research questions.