Emergency Preparedness and Response Resources: Public Health

Web-based toolkits for healthcare decision makers and planners. Topics include operating a family assistance center, medication dispensing, vulnerable populations and more.

Geospatial datafeeds and analysis of disasters.

The staff of the Natural Hazards Center can provide customized, comprehensive literature searches of the entire library document collection for an hourly per hour.

Collection of environmental health and toxicology databases, including database of potentially hazardous chemicals, chemical dictionary, structure database and references to toxicology literature.

Information and resources for preparing for and responding to public health emergencies.

Information about the CDC’s stockpile of medicines and medical supplies to be used in the event of a public health emergency.

An international initiative to improve early warning systems against extreme weather and support climate change adaptation. It is improving early warning systems to protect the most vulnerable populations against hazards like tropical cyclones and floods in Least Developed Countries and Small Island Developing States.

From ASPR TRACIE: Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Information Gateway.
This special issue contains articles highlighting the work of the Nuclear Detonation Scarce Resources Project Working Group. Included are discussions of triage and medical management of casualties resulting from nuclear detonations; social and behavioral response considerations for planners; and guidance to support health care system preparedness to respond to a nuclear detonation.

Information on public health preparedness, public health infrastructure and systems and community health.

Website features links to resources and reports. The center also sponsors conferences.

Provides links to the Psychological First Aid Field Operations Guide, and resources on helping children deal with the effects of natural disasters.

Central clearing house and portal to information on improving preparedness and eliminating disparities for culturally diverse communities before, during and after an emergency. Includes links to full text resources, resource guides and a database of translated materials.

Links to a variety of resources on disaster preparedness and response including biological agents, food safety, air and water quality and traumatic events.

Features news updates and country reports.

Information about response teams, response guidelines, situation reports and links to related sites.